Technology

Image

(This may be hard to see, but this is my brother and his friends playing MindCraft on the T.V.)

It is amazing how technology can define a generation. Last night at dinner I got a 20 minute lecture from an 8 year old about MindCraft, and I can’t tell you a single thing about what he said. It is like an entirely different language. I still remember about 3 years ago, my brother was in kindergarden and he asked me if I had an Itouch when I was his age. My response was, “Itouch’s didn’t exist when I was your age.”

This sounds cliché, but while I may only be 15, it is amazing how quickly and how much technology can change in such a short amount of time. I’m curious what the next “big thing” will be. The real question is: “Will this new technology be helpful, or detrimental, to society?”

2 thoughts on “Technology

  1. Anya,

    I’m fascinated by the curiosity you name – “I’m curious what the next ‘big thing’ will be.” More often than I probably let on, I wonder a similar thing. And, then, I usually wonder why I word my curiosity in such a “passive” manner – like I’m waiting for someone else to come up with it. Why not me? It’s an interesting dilemma of sorts for us people who consider ourselves innovators, isn’t it?!

    Your final question is intriguing to me, too. My hypothesis — whatever “it” is, it will be amoral. Not moral or immoral, but amoral. It will totally depend on how we humans use it and employ it. I think of email as an interesting case study here.

    Thanks for your posting.

  2. Anya-

    Great start to your blog! I’m excited to read much more. You mention the pace at which technology is changing and while I’m tempted look backwards at which technologies weren’t around when I was your age, I’m instead reminded of one of the most mind blowing factoids a college professor of mine told me about the future of technology.

    First – a tangent – as we had so much fun exploring in our science class. Moore’s Law (in honor of a co-founder of Intel) states that the amount of storage space on a given microchip doubles every two years or so.

    This means that before one of my children is able to drive (the next 15 years) we will be able to store 50 Pentabytes of data on a hard drive. Not impressed? 50 Pentabytes is enough to store the entirety of written works of mankind….from the beginning of recorded history…..in every written language…..on a single hard drive!

    The question you pose is a great one: Will this be beneficial or detrimental to our society?

Leave a Reply

