Music Good-byes

Image

(I’ll miss you architects, it’s been awesome!)

It’s the last day of Nerd Camp, but it isn’t actually as depressing as normal. I haven’t heard a single person cry yet. I honestly think it has something to do with the fact that we didn’t have a last dance like at summer studies where the TIPtradition songs (The End of the World As We Know It, Blister in the Sun, American Pie, and The Time Warp) are played for the last time, and then we watch the big slide show.

We did have a “Brag and Swag” which was our talent show (since it was canceled) mixed with the presentation for the different courses. However, I don’t feel like I really got to know anyone outside of my class besides Delaney.

Music really has a strong effect on people. Watching different classes present, the ones with music and pictures were usually more impactful. Plus, like I said, when the TIPtradition songs are played me and most summer studies TIPsters are always sad.

When people hear songs they tend to remember what was happening the last time the song was played, and thus the emotion becomes attached to the song.

Even if you aren’t emotionally attached to a song, music adds emotion to situations. When you watch a movie, the background music always helps add to the emotions to the scene.

I played the flute tonight at the talent show, so I guess that’s why music is on my mind. (I’m also going to force my friends to listen and dance to the TIPtradition songs because they need to be played. If you know me from school specifically, this probably sounds strange since I hate going to school dances. This has officially become a tangent, but I like dancing, but dances often consist of people jumping up and down and listening to music that I don’t really have an opinion about. I appreciate choreographed dances though.)

Anyway, like I said it’s the last night, so I’m going to get off the computer now. The main point being, music is powerful and I feel like this trait of music could be used advantageously in school somehow. Just thoughts to ponder.

2 thoughts on “Music Good-byes

Leave a Reply

