Age Gap

Screen Shot 2014-07-20 at 11.07.48 PMimgres

So this past week I was at camp, but I was technically too old to be there for that particular week. The camp was really for kids 3rd-6th grade (based on the grade you just finished), but I’m use to being around kids younger than me because of the gym anyway.

I was there that week because the camp I was going to go to didn’t have enough people interested in it, but that worked for me because then I got to go to the drama camp with my mime friends!!!!!!!!!!!! I had been to the drama camp 3 years ago, and 2 years ago I wasn’t in that specialty camp, but I still got to see my mime friends anyway because they were there that week. 

The camp  itself is called Camp Eder, but for the drama camp they have the D.R.A.M.A Ministry come and teach us. Let me just say they are amazing and awesome and just all around some great people. 

Anyway, it was funny being with the younger kids because that meant I was actually closer in age to the CITs and some of the members of the drama team. Being with the younger kids there were definitely times when I noticed age gaps, but I kind of enjoyed them. 

I really appreciated being around the younger kids. They would ask questions that were amazing! I feel bad that I don’t remember many of them, but I remember thinking about how I would never ask those questions, yet I wished I would. 

It’s hard to describe, but I guess the point is that I don’t see why society creates these social age barriers. There are definitely some things that kids develop as they age, for example the challenge course was interesting because the 10-12 age specifically is when kids think they know everything. Therefore, working as a team to figure out the best way to solve a challenge was interesting. We did eventually complete some of them though. 

However, ages don’t always have to be separated. Younger kids learn leadership skills from older kids, and younger kids often are better brainstormers because they haven’t really developed a filter yet. 

While my best friends at camp may have been the councilors who were closer to my age, I definitely appreciated being at camp with 9-13 year olds and would not have rathered gone to a different camp for my age group. 

One thought on “Age Gap

Leave a Reply

