Compulsive Reading

imgres

Have you ever read compulsively just to be doing something?

After finishing Four, I didn’t have any more books that I hadn’t read with me because I was still waiting for my package from New York that my grandma was sending me with the other books. In the last week and a half I finished 3 books, so I was reading a lot. If I wasn’t reading I was doing math, but I finished that last night too. (I’M DONE WITH SUMMER WORK!) 

Since I didn’t have anything I had to do, I didn’t know what to do. It’s like once you finally have free time, but you don’t know what to do with yourself since it barely ever happens. 

I’ve said before that I don’t usually re-read books. This is usually because I don’t have a lot of extra time for pleasure reading, so when I do have time I typically already have a new book waiting to be read. However, today I felt the need to read, so I started re-reading Mockingjay from the Hunger Games trilogy. (Kylie had just finished the book, so she said I could read it again now.) 

I noticed something in common with recent dystopian novels. The main characters get very tense about the idea of being a pawn for someone else. They really try hard to make their own decisions and not let anyone else manipulate and take advantage of them.

I think these books are becoming popular because that is how teens can feel sometimes. They are old enough to start thinking and realizing that adults aren’t always right, and they don’t want to do what they think isn’t right. Yet, they are still not considered “adults” themselves, so they are caught somewhere in between. Current dystopian novels take this emotion and exaggerate on it, making some big rebellion and usually war out of it. 

Later in the day, my package finally came in, and in it was the book I have been trying all summer to track down: Mort. I’ve only gotten to read about the first 15 pages so far, but it is pretty great! (Our one act production of this novel is going to be really fun! And since I’m not far, there shouldn’t be any huge spoilers besides basically what you know by reading the back.)

Mort is another teenage boy that feels the need to rise up to the standards set by his father and the community. He needs to get an apprenticeship, but by midnight on the day when everyone gets hired, still no one want Mort. His father and uncle think that he thinks to much, and that reading has messed with his mind, but Mort doesn’t think it is bad. 

Finally, right before the last stroke of midnight, Mort gets asked to be an apprentice for Death. Mort is curious and really wants to please his father by becoming an apprentice, so he accepts. That is as far as I am now, but I have a feeling working under Death will cause Mort to start thinking differently too. Maybe he will rise up against the status quo. Maybe it is irrelevant, but with all of the recent novels I’ve read, it seems possible. 

People consider teenage years to be crazy, confusing, and awkward because you are between the age of a child and adult and you are just starting to make your own opinions about life, and it’s true. At least writers can make a living off of it though. 

 

 

Speaking about what people think, I love how my family does some ridiculous things sometimes. Who cares what other people think? Sometimes you need to do crazy things just because you can. My family has a tradition for when we go to Ohio. There is this ice cream place called Mitchell’s and at least once every time we are in Ohio, we have “Pajamas Mitchell’s Night”.” We all get in our pjs and go get ice cream, and it is great! Some people tell us it is a great idea, lots of people give us weird looks, and we just laugh and have a great time anyway! Today was one of those nights! 

 IMG_2427(This isn’t the greatest picture, but we are all wearing pjs and looking fabulous while eating fantastic ice cream!) 

 

Leave a Reply

