Pitch a Story

imgres-1

Now that I’ve finished all of those quizzes, I can post about the CDC without being stressed out. Getting to go back to the CDC was definitely worth it, so I’m glad I didn’t decide to stay at school. However, this day had a much different feel to it then last Friday. Last week was more about the creative, team building, brainstorming side of design thinking while this week was more about the drive to the produce stage. Therefore, we focused a lot more on logistics and specific solutions this week. 

The coolest thing to me about going to the CDC is how I feel like I understand design thinking more now because “if you can teach it, then you really know it.” While giving feedback to these professionals, I finally realized just how great of a year the Disney Cohort will have. 

Each team had to develop a pitch, and while I’m not sure how the other tables started, the ADHD group which I worked with (also knowns as The Polka-dot Squirrels) started with a basic outline and then gave feed back to improve upon it. The original pitch had a lot to do with data and statistics. This initial approach could have been because as doctors the CDC members are comfortable with  working with the facts, but design thinking is most importantly about the story. From all of the tables the most frequent feedback I heard, specifically from ID members, was something along the lines of, “I think it would help if we added more of the story into it.” 

If I had to pick one thing that I’ve learned over the last year that I find will be essential to my life, it is how to create a compelling pitch. Especially after working with the CDC members, I have come to realize just how important it is to have a good emotional connection tied into your pitch when you are trying to make a change. 

After some feedback, the groups presented their pitches. These were created in about an hour, so of course there is more that could have been done, but it was a great start, and so much better from where we started. 

The interesting thing about this week being more focused on solutions and logistics was seeing what the groups currently thought of as the solution they wanted to push. I don’t know entirely about the other groups, but for the ADHA group they used the same solution they started with. I’m curious if they truly still think that it is the best solution, or if there is still some unease about potentially going in a new direction. 

Design thinking takes time and practice like everything else to become proficient at it, and the CDC members aren’t quite at that point yet. They have just been introduced to this concept, so I understand why they might want to just stick with what they already know. However, since I participated in the process, I know that the users also gave some insight about other issues around parents with children with ADHD. A big thing that the users discussed was the disconnect between parents and schools around the topic of ADHD.  Some of my fellow ID members really want to dive deeper into this side of the topic to also show other ways to help under the same umbrella. Maybe the combo of the 2 different directions will lead to something entirely different. I can’t wait to find out what still lays in store. 

One thought on “Pitch a Story

Leave a Reply

