A Little Repetitive

  • How are you growing as an innovator?
  • What skills have you been learning? How have you been practicing these skills?
  • How have your observation and ethnography helped you develop your curiosities and passions?
  • What have you discovered about innovation? Creativity?
  • How are you growing as a collaborator? What specifically have you done to strengthen our iD team?
  • How are your writing skills developing?
  • What goals do you have for the rest of this semester?

It’s funny because I feel like I have been answering these questions everyday. I am constantly asked to define my progress since Innovation Diploma has started. I have grown quite a bit this school year as an innovator. When we started, I knew my good share of design thinking lingo. I knew that it was about thinking out side of the box to solve real world problems centered around humans. Now I understand DEEPer about how design thinking happens all of the time and how we can use human based problem solving to make big differences in the world. I also have realized how important observation is.

As a cohort we have had the opportunities to walk around the school to practice ethnography (a word I didn’t even know of before), which is essentially observing and recording your insights about situations. Sometimes people don’t know what they think; therefore, simply asking them questions doesn’t really help with pinpointing the needs of people. In order to really get into the heads of others, you must observe the situation for a long period of time.

By taking more time to observe the world around me, specifically looking at school, I have been aware of so many things that I’m inspired to work towards.  Currently, sharing stories has been what I’ve been really passionate about, and specifically how sharing stories can effect relationships in communities and why it is important to have strong relationships within communities.

I’ve been telling my story through my blogging, but now I want to connect and collaborate more with others to facilitate my own DT challenge with students and potentially teachers to find out how we can help students share stories.

Right now, these plans seem vague because I haven’t defined my own thoughts all that well, but I was working on that more today. I hope to have the official plan for my iVenture figured out by the end of this week, so I can move forward more with the rest of the year. I’ve also really learned how important feedback is, so I think I will sign up for an internal next week to get specific feedback on my plan. That’s kind of where I’m at right now as far as my progress.

To be completely honest, I was asked to reflect on these questions today, and I wasn’t too trilled about it. Sometimes I feel like I’m using time to say the same thing a different way. This was meant because we are halfway through the school year and other classes are doing reflections for grades, but instead Ms. Cureton and Mr. Adams wanted us to reflect as a way for them to see what we are thinking as well as something our parents could see to understand our growth. I guess this reflection bothered me a little because I know my parents know about how I’ve grown as an innovator because I talk to them, and they also read my blog. I also actually discussed with Mr. Adams and Ms. Cureton about these same questions a week or so ago and even wrote a blog post about how I’ve grown as an innovator around that time (My Tag Story; Oh How We’ve Grown). At this point it feels repetitive.

I know it is important to reflect, if I have learned anything this year it is that it is really important to be able to communicate your thoughts on events, but I already reflect. This has been a common thread through out all of school I think. “How might we design for all types of students?” Some students, like myself, already blog and reflect constantly, others are not as inclined to do so. How can we design a system where no student feels pulled back or left out? Is it possible? This has been a common discussion outside of ID too. With our new schedule there is a lot of “free” time meant for students to get done what they find important, but only some kids take advantage of this time productively. What can we do to change that?

How might we make all work time feel meaningful and not repetitive?

2 thoughts on “A Little Repetitive

  1. WOW! I landed on this post b/c I was looking to find one of your previous posts- really enjoyed this one! My question (which may or may not help): What’s your broader lens on your purpose for reflection? Reminds me of a Drucker post: “Follow effective action with quiet reflection. From the quiet reflection will come even more effective action.” What’s your effective action?

    1. Could you expand on your question? I would love to hear more about that quote. I interpreted it as, “What is your purpose for reflection?” The biggest reason I reflect is to organize my own thoughts. To look back at events and think about how they were connected and what insight I learned from them. I reflect to see how I (and/or others) have grown during a period of time. Based on this answer, this reflection post may seem a little hypocritical. My thoughts are that while reflecting is good, there comes a point where you get locked into reflecting one way about a topic, so eventually you just need to stop reflecting on the same thing and go have new experiences that you can later connect back to but even further and deeper.

Leave a Reply

