Student to Teacher

imgres-2

Today was my first time being a coach at a gymnastics meet!!!! (Mentally ringing the progress bell!!)

I’ve been to dozens of gymnastics meet, but it was so weird being the coach now. I even saw one of my old coaches and she didn’t even recognize me at first and couldn’t believe I was coaching now. Most of these girls on team have known me for a while, and I’ve even competed alongside of several of them, so it was a little weird having this role shift.

I don’t remember when I first had this question, but I keep thinking about it, “When does the student become the teacher?”

Sure we are all students, teachers, and mentors, but we aren’t born a teacher of everything; we must first learn for ourselves until we can gain enough experience to be good enough to help with assisting others. It is just like what the flight attendant always says, “If you are traveling with a child or someone who requires assistance, secure your mask on first, and then assist the other person.” It is hard to teach something to someone when you don’t know the topic for yourself.

So when does the change happen? When are you ready to teach?  I find the moment I’m living in kind of difficult because I feel like I’m somewhere in between student and teacher; I’m starting to teach, but I don’t really have a lot of experience with it yet.

Now I started by talking about gymnastics, but as you may have guessed there is more than that. I feel this way at school too, and there is the same weird conundrum with becoming a teacher of people that I work along side with as a student.

I know that teachers at school are constantly learning from other teachers, and the roles of student versus teacher amongst adults is constantly flipped. However, they have had a lot of time working in this multiple position life, and I’m just now getting use to this being a possible reality for me even at this age.

Most of my life I have been told that adults are right, and they are the teachers, and I am the student. Well I realize now that this isn’t true, and I can be a teacher, but moving into this world of adults is kind of hard especially when not all of my peers are moving with me yet. It creates a sort of tension that I’m trying to get use to.

I noticed this tension again last Friday when Kat and I used up a few minutes of study hall time to get our classmates to do an activity so that we could time how long it takes for when we get 8th graders to do it. The students did the activity, but it was kind of hard to make them completely listen to our directions.

I know I’m becoming a teacher, but am I prepared for what that means?

Leave a Reply

