Never the Same

imgres-2

Recently, there has been a lot of talk in my life about people leaving for other things. My middle for acro left to join just a tumbling class. 3 ID members gave formal resignation internals today. Plus one of my favorite teachers, Ms. Tumbleson who taught AP World, accepted an amazing job opportunity as the head of education at the Georgia Aquarium, and she will be leaving next Thursday from MVPS.

For all these people, it is sad to see them go, but everyone is different and has their own path they need to follow. People will come and go in your life and it hard to ever fully adjust, but we keep moving forward. Their is a special bond you form when working in a team with people that can’t just be replaced. Sure you can make new bonds and maybe accomplish similar tasks with new people, but it will never be exactly the same.

In acro today I had my new middle come for the first time and things were rather successful. We got almost all of the skills we need for level 7, which is what my top and I had been working on with our old middle, and I started teaching the new girl choreography already. This “new girl” isn’t that new though because she is a team girl that I’ve known since she was 5, and she has done a little acro with me in the past unofficially for the big group routine I did last year; however, now she is officially in the class and working with me specifically.

It’s a little weird thought because my old middle switched to a tumbling class that goes on at almost the same time as acro so she is still in the gym and therefore sees us working with a new person that is “filling” her old spot in the group essentially. Plus we are doing almost the exact same choreography and even upgraded some skills. However, I think she still supports her decision because she wanted to tumble more and thus her new class was the right one for her.

I think this is just the way life is. When people leave you have to keep moving forward by getting someone to take over their¬†responsibility. While this person will not be the same as the old one, and it may be a little weird to see both people together, you like the new person (if you don’t then it isn’t the right person to be working with) and keep trying to advance with whatever you are working on.

Everyone just keeps moving on their path and you have to be happy when yours just happens to collide with those great people that push you forward.

So, as said by the amazing Dr. Seuss, “Don’t cry because it’s over. Smile because it happened.”

Leave a Reply

