iVenture Spotlights

(For my 3rd post to the MVPS Blog…)

2014-11-20-12014-10-08

In ID we have been working really hard to create our iStudio, but that isn’t the only work that goes on within the Innovation Diploma Disney cohort. For the people that haven’t been in the core of the coVenture team, they have been working on their own iVenture. While there are a lot of different iVentures being worked on, I just wanted to spotlight a few.

Personally, I have been really passionate about innovative cultures and especially the involvement of student voice in the community. Therefore, I wanted to get some of my cohort members to write their own pieces about their iVenture and the work they have been doing. I prompted them by asking them to share a little summary about their iVenture and how ID has helped them grow with what they are passionate about, so I hope you enjoy reading about the work my fellow cohort members have been up to.

 

iVenture to Grow Through Art

Kathleen Weber (9th grade)

Innovation Diploma has helped me realize what I am truly passionate about which is painting. Painting is something I do when no one is watching and no one had told me to do it. I love painting because it gives me a chance to express things I can’t in real life. My most recent painting was of a girl with rainbow hair. Ever since I was a child I have always wanted to have colored hair but my parents wouldn’t let me. By painting I can express my love for colored hair without going against my parents wishes. Innovation Diploma helped me show others my love for painting and benefit from it. Through Innovation Diploma I have created my own website, blog, and etsy shop to get my paintings out there and I have sold one painting. Overall Innovation Diploma has helped me grow as a student and explore more options than just, “doing what you love.” ID helped me take it a step further. Instead of just “doing what I love” I am now “using what I love to help me grow.”

 

iVenture to Spread a Love for Design Thinking

Emmy Schaeffer (10th grade)

This summer, I will be going with Abigail Emerson, Mack Farrah, Ethan Mangudm, Deanna Datrich, Nic Lew, and Mrs. Emily Breite on a trip to explore the Finnish and Swedish education systems with an organization called Education First. At the end of this, we will be getting together with somewhere between 1400 and 1500 other students in Davos, Switzerland for something called the Global Leadership Summit (GLS). At GLS, our team will be leading about 100 students through a design thinking workshop centered around empathy and active listening, key parts of the design thinking process.

To prepare for leading this workshop, I have been working closely with Abigail and Mrs. Breite, along with getting help from other teachers, such as Mr. Adams, Mr. Boden, and Mrs. Cureton. A lot of this work has been done during the extended times I meet with the rest of the Innovation Diploma cohort: 7th period, iTime, iProject time, and lunch/enrichment. We have been using the ever helpful Design Thinking Playbook a lot, which has led to using design thinking to both create and lead the workshop. It has been a long and complicated process of picking a topic to run the students through, creating the flow, perfecting the flow, doing a first run-through with both this year’s ID cohort and next year’s ID cohort, and going back to the drawing board with feedback from both the cohorts and the watching mentors. We will be having our second run-through April 31st and May 1st with a bigger crowd of a few different classes and any students who are free.

And now that the annoying introduction is out of the way, we get to get to the fun stuff: learning.

I think one of the biggest things this has taught me is patience. Things aren’t always going to go as planned. In fact, they usually don’t go as planned. And that’s just life. I have about 4 or 5 different copies of the flow and they’ve all been edited numerous times. And sometimes the feedback and advice you get isn’t what you want to hear. Not because it’s bad or mean or unhelpful, but because it means you have to go back to the drawing board again. You know it will help you get better, but you can’t help but feel a little stressed. And that’s okay. Good, even, when coupled with a deadline: you now have energy to put to good use and get things done. I’ve also learned that it’s always a good idea to have multiple pairs of eyes looking over something, but to pick those eyes strategically. Pick the people that have done this before and will have valuable insights. It doesn’t have to be shared with everyone, and certainly not everyone every time.

All in all, this process has taught me what to do with feedback, how to get things done by a deadline, and most importantly: how to laugh at myself a bit and then just keep on working.

One thought on “iVenture Spotlights

Leave a Reply

