Switching Shoes

library-1024x691

My best friend Marz wisly said today “School rarely ends after exams.” It’s amazing how true this is.

I mean I’ve been out of school since 11am last Thursday, but today was the first day since then (other than the weekend) where I haven’t been at school. But I was still at a friends house working on stuff for next school year for 5 hours.

This year I think I have finally started to be able to empathize more with my teachers with understanding how busy school can be. Between constant meetings and planning for future events, there is a lot of work that has to happen behind the scenes.

This kind of reminds me of acro yesterday because for the first time, because we have two different classes, we had all 7 of us in the acro program there at the same time. (Ya numbers are small, we are working on that we technically have a mom and daughter pair too but they work on a totally different day.) Since it was the last class for many of the kids before summer, we had a fun day and made up new skills that involved everyone. We even had the tops (the 3 little kids) try doing some skills together which meant two of them learned how to be a base for the day.

The two that learned to be a base finally realized how hard it is to be a base when your top is messing around or not staying tight (which are problems we frequently have with them as tops). When we went to do skills later when they were tops again you could tell they were trying to be more focused and tight because they grew a new level of empathy for those of us that base them.

Empathy is such a crazy awesome thing!

Sometimes I wonder if there are times when empathy needs to happen but it just isn’t. For example, in education sometimes I feel like there needs to be more empathy work done with students. I think in the current age we are definitely getting more student involvement in education redesign, but I wonder what the outcome would be if teachers were to experience a typical student week.

Sure teachers all experienced being a student at some point, but times have changed and students today aren’t exactly the same as the same as students of yesterday. I mean even thinking about tonights #dtk12chat makes me think about the differences in how students perceive a library today compared to the past. The adults on the chat seemed to have a lot of really found memories of their visits at to the library as a child, but most of my friends barely consider our school to have a library and don’t particularly enjoy going there.

I stepped into a public library for the first time in years just yesterday and I don’t even remember how old I was the last time I went to one. When I want books I either go to Barns and Noble or, more often, I order them online from Amazon. It isn’t that I hate libraries, and I love reading it is just that I don’t see the reason to go to a library.

If more empathy work were to be done with current students, I wonder what they would say about their perception of libraries. I suspect there would be a disconnect between how students perceive libraries and how teachers and educators want students to perceive libraries which is as Grant Lichtman defined “a place to imagine, dream, create, manage, and share knowledge across time, space, and people”.

What insights can we gain by stepping into the shoes of someone in a different role in the same organization?

Leave a Reply

