TIPster for Life

imgres-3

It’s hard to describe emotions. It’s even harder to describe deep emotions. And it’s even harder to describe how I felt today after leaving TIP for the last time.

I still haven’t really processed it, and I don’t really want to. TIP has meant so much to me over the years. It’s been more than just a place for learning about math. I’ve made life long friends and had experiences that can’t be replicated anywhere else.

Last nights’ talent show was beautiful and hilarious and depressing and all around one of the most powerful moments of friendship. We had everything from solving a rubric cube while jump roping on one foot, to kazoo dub step, to disney flute duets, to 4th year traditions, to a medley of all of the TIP tradition songs. All 37 acts made for a great show that made for a spectacular end to my last term.

I may not remember every individual act, but I will remember being a part of a crowd of cheering people, celebrating the talents of one another and the memories of the past, present, and future. I will remember going back to our dorms and signing term books into the wee hours of the night. I will remember the 4th year tradition of us being taken in groups to a Mexican restaurant at 2am to order food and come back to eat all together. I will remember the awesome 4th year girls and our RCs that stayed up all night sharing food and stories while playing games. I will remember Sarah getting Yahtzee at 5:45 at which point gravity was laughing at us. I will remember going outside at 6am for one last American Pie with all of the 4th yearers our on the circle quad; singing and crying our hearts out as one.

I will remember getting onto a bus at 9am and looking out of the window at a crowd of crying people that came to wish us all goodbye one last time. And as we drove by, I remember thinking, “Ohana means family, and family means no one gets left behind or forgotten.”

Some TIPsters I’ve known for 3 weeks. Others 4 years. All of them feel like family. And together we are at home. You may leave from time to time, but in the end you always find your way back home.

3 thoughts on “TIPster for Life

Leave a Reply

