Time is Ticking

Screen Shot 2015-07-19 at 7.46.03 PM

I finally finished my summer math today!!! (Well my assigned summer math that is, because I know I’ll be doing a ton of math at Yale next week.)

I had been procrastinating doing my math for a while, but finally I decided I just needed to sit down and do it before I left because it’s just going to be more busy when I return.  That’s when I realized how little time there is left of this summer.

As of today there are exactly 21 days until our back to school kick off party at the high school where everyone meets at school for a few hours to catch up and eat pizza for a little before orientation 2 days later. THAT’S CRAZY SOON!!!! I mean in actuality there is only a little under a month left, which is kind of a while, but school will be here before we know it.

It seems like summer just flies by so quickly. I’m leaving Wednesday then I’ll get back and go to soccer for a few days before the kick off party and that’s it. Not to mention when I get back we should be completely moved into our new house which will be quite different. Today is probably my last weekend ever living here and we’ve been here for 9 years.

I have a large white board in my room (and soon I will have a whole portion of my wall in whiteboard paint!) and at the beginning of the summer I listed a bunch of things that were going to happen and I needed to be prepared for. After erasing “math” off of the board I looked and realized how clean the board is getting, and it started completely full.

I don’t know if I’m ready for school to start back up, but at the same time I’m kind of looking forward to it because, while very stressful, I think this year will also be really fun. I’ve been watching a bunch of Gilmore Girls with my family on Netflix this summer, and we are on season 4 at which point Rory (the main character) and her friends are all going off to college. My sister keeps teasing me about how that will be me in a few years and I just can’t believe it is really almost time to go to college. Feels like just yesterday I was just entering MVPS and middle school for the first time.

Summer ending makes me think back to a challenge I never followed through with from last summer: The Phineas and Ferb Challenge. The challenge was all about trying to make the most of summer and I even gave the challenge of not waiting until summer. I went back and briefly looked at the list and discovered I accidentally did quite a few of the things which are bolded, but I haven’t finished re-going through the list. Maybe this year I will  do a better job at remembering the challenge. Maybe it would help if I actually got people to commit to joining me this year.

Time flies when you’re having fun.

Leave a Reply

