Curious Excitement

imgres

Now that I’ve been back home for a few days, it’s no surprise that I ended up back at school again over the summer. It seems like for the amount of time I’ve been in Georgia I’ve been at school more days than not actually.

This morning we had an hour long meeting trying to get the last details finalized for the AP Lang class Kat and I are co-creating for us to take next year!! We’ve been working so hard on this all summer and I can’t wait for us to finally start!!

The more I think about it, the more I realize that perhaps the biggest reason I’m excited for this course is because I feel like there’s really a lot riding on it in terms of the future of MVPS classes. I mean right now I can feel myself in the mitts of an innovation in education; that’s what my goal has been for such a long time now and it feels like I’m really making something happen! This is practically one giant experiment to see what happens when students really take control of their learning, and what happens when you get rid of grades, and what happens when students don’t have a single “teacher” but instead many “mentors”. There’s a lot involved with how we do in this class and I’m a little nervous, but also excited and ready to pioneer a change.

It’s not even just AP Lang I’m excited for. Today I saw pretty much all of my teachers because they’ve all returned to school for their preplanning week (including another great lip sync competition so I heard and saw some pictures and videos of). There energy level actually managed to raise my energy level as well. I’ve been reading tweets from various teachers for at least 30 minutes now and I’ve slowly been getting more and more excited about everything being planned for next year!!

A week ago I was still in shock mode of “school starts in a week…” Now I’m surprised by my own enthusiasm, which may fade in the weeks to come, but for now I’m pumped! My curiosity is making me excited!!!

2 thoughts on “Curious Excitement

Leave a Reply

