Writing For Different Audiences

imgres

One of the things we do in our AP Lang Collab Course is that every week we write a blog post in response to either a reflection, reading analysis, or argument prompt that we create. This week was a reading analysis prompt that Kat created where we were examining the purpose of an article we read in ID earlier this week and also discussing how the author made his point.

Today I was working on my post and I realized something: I was writing it like a 5 paragraph essay and it didn’t feel right. I don’t know why I stated writing the post like an essay, but it almost felt instinctive. I didn’t know how else to answer the question.

This bothered me because part of what we are trying to do in the class is experiment with other “non-traditional” ways to write. I don’t think I have ever read an article that is written like a 5 paragraph essay, so why was I writing my blog post that way? I think part of this dilemma is some hidden lesson about keeping in mind your audience. Online audiences aren’t use to 5 paragraph essays, so then how do you write to an online audience? 

Whenever I’ve been writing about writing styles and author’s purposes it has been in or for school, so the 5 paragraph essay form would be appropriate. But aren’t there other people that write about this kind of topic that aren’t writing it for school? I feel like there has to be articles like that out there somewhere, and that’s the kind of writing I want to learn how to do because I don’t yet know how and yet the “online audience” seems to be becoming the audience of writing in the 21st century so I want to be prepared for that.

The article I finally posted on my blog was somewhat 5 paragraph essay form, and not a very good one at that. Personally, I’m not too proud of this post for some reason, and yet I want to be proud of it. I want my work to feel meaningful, and to me that means I need to be proud of it. So for next week in AP Lang, I have an idea that I’d like to pursue, and since I co-created the class, I have that freedom to change things up sometimes which is kind of awesome: I want to find articles that examine other works of writing, but they aren’t in 5 paragraph essay form. The hope being that after reading these articles and discussing the style they use, that maybe I can go back and edit my own blog post so that it more properly fits the “online audience”.

That’s the idea. Now to see where it goes…

Leave a Reply

