Being Known

imgres

In ID a few weeks ago we read “Problem Solvers” from Clouds to Concrete. (Typically I would include a link to the article, but amazingly enough, this was an article that we actually had to read printed out!! Yup, reading not online still is a thing.)

Now several weeks later, I’m reflecting again on this article and some of the questions that is poses:

  1. What do you want to be known for?

  2. How will you be a problem seeker and solver?

I often find that it is hard to answer  big questions like these on the spot; however, if you can look on past reflections, or get someone else to help question you to dig deeper, you often can find insights about yourself that you had never noticed before. So rather than brainstorming or trying to write a response to these questions, they actually inspired me to go back to old posts of mine where I searched for key insights on who I am and what I want others to think of me.

I reviewed a lot of different old posts, but I pulled out quotes from 7 ones that really stood out to me. If you would like to read the quotes, along with my highlights of parts that stood out amongst the quotes as key points, I made this handy dandy google doc; otherwise I just want to share some of the patterns and key insights I discovered based on my past writings which I find to still be true.

In no particular order, I want to be known as someone who is:

  • honestly sharing stories, for myself and others who may not be able to share them for themselves
  • positively designing for the future (innovating)
  • courageous
  • inspiring people of all ages
  • leading through action
  • staying true to myself as an individual #ridiculouslymyself
  • a supportive friend/teammate/collaborator
  • able to accept and learn from failure
  • constantly questioning

I’d like to also expand further on my last point. I want to be known as someone who is constantly questioning, because I believe that is the best step you can take in order to be a problem seeker and solver. Questions allow you to discover problems which can be turned into opportunities, and with further questioning you will learn and build ideas to solve these problems. And these solutions will probably lead to new questions and new problems, and so the cycle of questions continues to influence change.

I’m sure in the future these phrases may change as far as what I want to be known for, but that’s okay because people change. It’s important to constantly reflect on your goals because it helps keep you on track with your own personal values.

One thought on “Being Known

  1. I love that you have a deep library of personal writing on which to reflect. And I love that you made the time and effort to return to those writings to inform your current and future self. Brava!

Leave a Reply

