History is Everywhere

imgres

Everything we do and learn has a history behind it– a story behind it.

Learning happens when questioning, and the answers to these questions are history: Where did the idea come from? Why is it noteworthy? What is the research to support our idea? Why is this true? Who discovered it? How did they do it? Why should I care today?

If everything we could possibly learn in school involves some element of history, why is it that we also have a separate history class? I ask this with complete innocents and wonder if there could ever be any; there are no secret intentions or other thoughts as to why I wonder this that have yet developed in my head. (Perhaps with my circular thinking theory, I will one day soon have a new realization that connects to this thought and allows me to realize why I must have been thinking it now.) I’m just curious as to why our system of subjects were created the way they were, and I wonder if this system is still applicable today, as in, “do we need a history class, or what if history was just taught alongside other material?”

What if history was just taught in congruence with other subjects, and thus each class period was made longer to account for that? What if instead you just learned a concept (for this particular wonder, I’m assuming that this would be in one of your other core classes), learned the history and context of the concept, then used and experimented with the concept?

I just wonder…

3 thoughts on “History is Everywhere

Leave a Reply

