No Constraints

edjourney2-199x300

It’s been weird and great to have time this weekend without homework! Today, after coaching at an event for foster children, I actually had some time to read for a while (before I fell asleep with sticky-notes on me at the gym…).

I’ve really just started #EdJourney by Grant Lichtman, but I’ve gotten about 30 pages in and read the 15sh page intro, so I’ve finally reached that point where I’ve started thinking a bunch about it. (Oh by the way, this was also the book we hand choose to read for AP Lang because we were that curious and engaged after reading his first book The Falconer which was amazing!)

The book tells the journey of Mr. Lichtman from when he spent 89 days traveling the country and visiting various school to ask students, teachers, faculty members, and parents this list of questions:

  • What does innovation mean to yo? 
  • How has your school changed to meet the challenges of a rapidly changing world? 
  • Is your school organized more for the benefit of the children or the adults?
  • What do we really need to teach and learn in schools, and how are you doing this? 
  • What does that look like?
  • What has worked?
  • What has not? 

Trying to get at the heart of what 21st century education looks like, Mr. Lichtman identifies the major road blocks and obstacles to education reform and provides ample examples of ways that schools around the country are solving for these problems.

While reading about all of the cool things that school around the country have set up in their programs, it’s made me wonder about what my ideal school experience would look like if there were no constraints. Like non at all! No worrying about what colleges would think, money isn’t an issue, there is no issue of hiring the staff I’d like, the community can be made up, anything is possible!

I haven’t yet really started to answer this question, but I predict that this will be the big question I’m trying to answer as I continue to read.

Some of the underlying questions to this big question being: How I would structure time and scheduling? How would students and teachers interact? What types of teachers would work at the school? How big would the school be? What would the layout of the building be like? What types of equipment and resources would there be? How would assessment work? What types of course work would be offered? How would the curriculum be structured? What type of community would the school be in location wise? What would the founding values, principles, and mission be of the school?

And I’m sure many more questions will be encountered during my reading, and life. I wonder also what this imaginary school would like if there was a time constraint on the brainstorming time. I also wonder how my individual image could potentially change if I was working on a team to answer this question, and therefore everyone would have different opinions and ideas we’d have to manage. I’d be interested in how sub teams of ID peeps would answer this question actually. Hum… How might we…

Leave a Reply

