Growing Passions

plant_growth_over_time.jpg

We did it, we made it to Thanksgiving break!!! So far this break I have created and taught about 4 gymnastics routines, practiced lines, discovered they are creating a new Lion King movie/TV series about Simba’s son (premiering tomorrow night on Disney channel at 7), seen the The Hunger Games: Mockingjay Part 2 (which was an amazing movie!!!!!), stayed up late watching Gilmore Girls with my sister, slept in, was reading a ton of stuff online about disney, and also did some work on my latest challenge: going through all of my old blog posts and tagging/categorizing them as well as summarizing each post in one sentence.

Considering that this will be my 471st blog post, I have my work cut out for me, but so far I’ve gone through about  30 of them. It’s been kind of fun to go back through all of my old posts from when I first started blogging. It’s amazing how I can see the change in my writing over time.

My earliest posts were fairly short and about a wide variety of things usually about some simple observation like seeing how water got stuck in an outdoor table with holes in it. Over time I can see my posts grow in length and detail and they also become less random.

It’s funny because I haven’t even gotten far enough into the posts to be past that first summer of blogging, but as I read the posts I find myself talking about education and things that school could be doing differently.

ID hadn’t really begun yet. I had not idea what an “iVenture” was. No one had really used language like  “what’s your how might we?” or “what are your passions?” around me before. I had maybe 20 followers on my blog max. I didn’t even know how to tag or categorize. I had no idea who Grant Lichtman was. I had never been on twitter.I couldn’t tell you the 5 characteristics of an innovator’s DNA.  I didn’t even really know about the Mount Vernon Institution For Innovation. However, even back then I can see little snippets of what would eventually become my iVenture.

It’s kind of cool to look back and realize that it shouldn’t have really been a surprise that I ended up so passionate about education redesign. Passions don’t all of a sudden appear out of no where, they develop over time. Since I have been keeping this blog, I get the joy of being able to look back and see how my passions developed over time.

One thought on “Growing Passions

Leave a Reply

