Getting Older is Weird

1077685931

IMG_0660.JPG

I feel so old…

Today I turned 17, and it was a pretty great day; actually, it was an overall great week! I’ve been in New York (my technical hometown even if I only lived here for three and a half years), and man I just really love this city! Every time I come there are more interesting things to see and do, and I leave with so many fatardo (awkward and random and usually crazy in the best way) stories.

We’ve seen at least one show everyday except 1 and they have almost all been fantastic!! (There was one show that personally wasn’t my thing just because it was more like listening to a podcast live and I just really need visuals to focus.) The last few days were especially great because we got to see School of Rock and Les Miserables on Broadway and that was super fun!!!

I also went to my first real New Years Eve party with my aunts which was interesting. Everyone felt old about that because just the fact that I’m now old enough to be going out till 2am in the city was kind of weird.

Plus I’ve also been walking around the city on my own more this year. One day I even went to meet up with an old friend for lunch, then her parents stopped by because they were in the area and we all had a moment of “Woah, you guys are so grown up. Going out to lunch by yourselves. I remember when you were so little!”

Then today, with it being my birthday, everyone was talking about how I’m almost 18 and everything I can do once I’m 18. And of course “Where do you want to go to college?”  has been asked about a million times…

I don’t know where this is going, but it’s just weird getting older. I remember I use to just love when it was my birthday and I didn’t really think about getting older, but now that I am older it feels so much more noticeable. Being a kid is pretty awesome, but I’m not such a kid anymore which is kind of weird to think about.

 

(Also exciting news, the video of my MoVe Talk from fuse15 is now finished!!!)

 

One thought on “Getting Older is Weird

Leave a Reply

