Choreographing Through Life

imgres.jpg

It was far over a year ago that I took the Gallup Strengths Finder test, but every day I’m finding new connections to how I use my strengths in different situations. One of my strengths is “individualization”:

 

Your Individualization theme leads you to be intrigued by the unique qualities of each person. You are impatient with generalizations or “types” because you don’t want to obscure what is special and distinct about each person. Instead, you focus on the differences between individuals. You instinctively observe each person’s style, each person’s motivation, how each thinks, and how each builds relationships. You hear the one-of-a-kind stories in each person’s life. This theme explains why you pick your friends just the right birthday gift, why you know that one person prefers praise in public and another detests it, and why you tailor your teaching style to accommodate one person’s need to be shown and another’s desire to “figure it out as I go.” Because you are such a keen observer of other people’s strengths, you can draw out the best in each person. This Individualization theme also helps you build productive teams. While some search around for the perfect team “structure” or “process,” you know instinctively that the secret to great teams is casting by individual strengths so that everyone can do a lot of what they do well.

Most recently I’ve realized that this skill has allowed me to really grow as a choreographer. I’m currently in the middle of choreographing and coaching 5 different 2:15-5min long routines for an average of about 20 people in each group, plus I have 5 acro routines of my own (but only one of those is still being choreographed/taught). It’s been a lot to keep up with, but it’s also been really fun and I’ve been challenging myself this year to try several new things. Specifically I’ve been working on having people do different things at once but still making it look clean and having a sense of togetherness.

 

My ability to see the different things that individuals are good at has really bled into my choreographing and so far I think the routines are coming along rather nicely.

I’ve mentioned before that I’m a multipotentialite, so I get involved with lots of different things and can make good connections between the topics, however, I don’t believe myself to really be an expert in any particular area. Dance/gymnastics is one of those areas that I’m interested in, but I’m not very flexible and haven’t even done much tumbling since hurting my wrist a year ago. The neat thing about choreographing though, is that I don’t have to be amazing at dance myself, but I can see the lines and patterns and teach them to individuals who have the talents that I don’t.

I think I’m a choreographer in most of my life, because I often am not the one on a team with a very particular skill. (I mean I consider myself to be good at storytelling/pitching, but I more mean roles on a team to actual design x like a CAD master, artist, web designer, engineer, etc.)  However, I am good at the more manager like role of being able to see the full picture of what needs to be done, what steps need to be taken to get there, and being able to find the person who could best lead that step. I’m able to see how all of the little parts fit together, which is why I can coach a routine with 20 people in it without ever having the full group there except maybe once or twice before the show.

I love choreographing and wish I could do more of it through out the year to be honest. I just find it interesting how our skills seem to really connect between everything we do.

Leave a Reply

