A Close Community

Feeling like you are a part of a community is one of the best ways to keep you happy. I know when I feel like I’m on a team with other people is when I always have fun. Whether that team is soccer, gymnastics, theater, a group project, a service event, etc., it doesn’t matter, the feeling of working towards a common goal with people that are all equally motivated and supportive is the best feeling.

Cibfmt3VAAAn-te.jpgToday was graduation, so to some people that makes my grade officially the seniors. I think one of the phrases I heard the most today was, “Next year… This will be you guys.” I personally don’t consider us seniors for at least 3 more days though because we still have school until Tuesday and then exams, so it’s still the end of junior year. However, I feel like we are going to have a pretty fantastic senior year because our grade feels like a true community.

We get rearranged into all sorts of combinations of people, but for the most part everyone still gets along and we are good at working together and having fun. Even just these past few days with the ushers has felt like a great team. We were pulled together as a team around the common goal of making graduation run smoothly, and we all had a lot of fun and got the job done. Even while stacking chairs we were laughing, and then we all went out to lunch afterwards; you know you are in a good community when a team chooses to hang out together after their job is done.

The seniors are alumni, and my days as a junior are limited, and thought I don’t yet feel ready for next year, I know we’ll all make it through because of our awesome community. The class of 2017 is going to raise the bar next year-I just know it.

Leave a Reply

