Flexible Schedules

images-1.jpgWow it was a crazy weekend of late nights. I saw West Side Story Friday night and then right after drove to a friends lake house where we arrived at 1am. Then the following night one of the parents stepped on a copper head snake, got bitten, and had to go to the hospital where he spent the night. Then the following night the power went out and we had no battery operated fans, but we couldn’t get the car out of the garage so we called a friend to do a late night run to Walmart in PJs. And then last night we just watched a family movie and afterwards I fell asleep reading.

Long story short, I haven’t blogged in a while. I realized today how it’s surprisingly a lot easier to blog during the school year. I remember after school started during my original 100 day challenge, one of my teachers had said that he expected me to be writing less after school started because I would have less time, but I actually wrote more. I believe this was for a number of reasons. At school there are constantly people you are having intellectual conversations, despite if it is by  choice or not. Plus you often find things that bug you which are some of the easiest to blog about. And furthermore, over the summer you stay up later with friends and family because you don’t have school in the morning to worry about so you can actually sleep in!

However, summer isn’t only about staying up late, playing with friends and family, and sleeping in. In fact I like to say summer is when I can finally work on all of the things I don’t typically have time for during the school year. Currently I’m working on 4 different project teams, have almost finished my 4th book, have made over a dozen gymnastics songs and routines for next year, have practiced an entire new music book of songs on flute/piccolo, have coached at fuse16, have coached summer camp, have/will have several conversations with schools around the country and Grant Lichtman about the future of education, and to top it all off I have intensely researched over 20 different colleges and will be touring some later this summer while visiting family in the north east.

Summer doesn’t just mean fun time, but it also can mean fun work time. And this isn’t like a teacher trying to be clever and trying to make homework sound better, because this work is often self assigned.

It’s amazing what we can get done with a more flexible schedule.

Leave a Reply

