Talents Together

IMG_4111.JPG

The shows went so well tonight!!!! “The Gender Police”  (the show my aunt created that I was assistant stage manager for) made it’s debut and potentially final performances tonight and the audience was cracking up the IMG_5840.JPG.jpegentire time! Everyone commented that the show was a perfect balance between covering serious topics and conveying it in a humorous and captivating way.

IMG_5846.PNGI was also blown away by the shear amount of talent in one place tonight. The night started out with a 40 minute montage of different short performances that helped describe how the after school program discussed different social issue topics. There were songs about how we’re all beautiful, dances describing struggles to be yourself, spoken word pieces about needing to act and not just watch protests on TV, monologues asking the audience what we should be doing, live paintings physically blurring the lines between colors. It was all so graceful and powerful.

What amazed me most about tonight was just the fact that this group of at least 30 young adult artists from high scool to just out of college came together to stand up to social issues. IMG_5842.JPG.jpegMost of these people didn’t know each other before this event, but everyone knew someone which brought them together and each of them brought their own talents together to put on an incredible show!

I’m so glad that I got to be a part of this production even if only for a week. I got to learn more about using the lighting box in order to help run tech in rehearsals. I got tips on writing and directing a show which will help for our senior theater project. I even got the chance to test my memory because a girl didn’t show up early for the dress rehearsal tonight so they had me fill IMG_5841.JPGin and it turned out that I knew all of her lines and blocking after being at rehearsals this week.  I learned so much, had tons of fun with cool new people I met, got the chance to be in something really meaningful, plus I’m even more pumped for our coming up theater season at MVPS!

It was a great week of theater, and it’s amazing to see what can happen when people come together to work on project.

One thought on “Talents Together

Leave a Reply

