Opening Doors

Today was our first Family Fun Day of the year at the Jump Start. We have a big open gym free to the public for a few hours where we also have snacks, smoothies, games, and exhibitions through out the event. My job is always to make smoothies in the back-which are pretty delicious if I do say so myself. 

While making smoothies this time, I accidentally cut my finger a little while trying to cut a lemon. I’m fine, but I realized that I think this is the first time I’ve ever cut myself with a knife. It seems weird that I’ve lasted this long, but I’m pretty sure it’s my first time.

Last night I posted about how senior year brings a lot of “last times,” but my accident today reminded me that there are also still a myriad of “first times” that I’ve yet to experiance: My first time at a high school dance; my first time co-writing and directing a play; my first time traveling with school internationally (hopefully…); my first time competing in the one act play against different schools; my first college application submission; the list goes on with things just in this year alone that I know will be a “first time” experiance.

When some doors close, others are just waiting to be opened.

Leave a Reply

